Ramblings of a crazy old lady

various thoughts and happenings in an old lady's everyday life

Rambling thoughts and Blessings

on 11/05/2016

i-told-you-older-woman-giving-don-t-know-expressions-34996908   Yea!!! Lost another few pounds … that makes aprox. 10#s this month … since she moved and my depression is getting better. I knew I wasn’t eating that much … I have no problem with portion control. It’s the metabolism … the activity … the cessation of keeping my head down and staying out of the way.

My home is looking better, the yard is looking better, I am getting more organized each day.

Becoming a co-dependent in order to have peace is just NO way to lead a life.

Did I tell you about the great Chihuahua rescue? Poor little girl was one of 8 survivors of a puppy mill/meth explosion a few blocks away. She suffers from many things emotionally and her sinuses were burned if the fire. She a teacup size, jut barely 3#’s and stands about 7″s at the shoulder. She is lilac colored tri-color named Lyla. Not the name I chose, she came to me with it. I didn’t rescue her from the “mill”, but from the young family that did. They weren’t able to take care of her and I was called. I have to say (since our family grew up with this breed) that she is amazing in that she has no fear. She does not hide nor shiver. She does have huge dog syndrome in that she will stand up and cow the Rotty mix and the Lurcher. The danger she presents to humans is that she is so cute she can wrap you around her little paw.

45175450-i-love-my-chihuahua

The Garden …. it is fall and much of it has finished for the year. They are mostly perennials and will appear again as soon as the weather warms up to the temperature for each one. I do have “Cole” crops ready to go in today. They have their second leaves now, so it is time.

The dogs have completely crossed over to home-cooked food, and the cats appear to be crossing over as well. It’s amazing what cooking for them has done for their health. On top of which, for the cats I only have to buy chicken leg quarters or go fishing. 2 leg quarters will make 2 weeks worth when combined with rice or oats, and will feed 3 cats for that time. As for the dogs it takes 5 leg quarters a month, combined with 3 bags frozen vegetables. 2 fruits, and 4 cups rice (2 raw makes 4 cooked) with oats, if I want to add them. I have been cooking for the dogs for a year now and their health has improved steadily, in fact I hadn’t realized they were not well until the food caused the improvements.

I started cooking for my animals because of the Monsanto GMO’s and Glyphosates in our foods and those of all our animals. I just don’t understand why the government won’t make them label their foods. We have the right to choose. I choose not to buy anything that doesn’t list all of their ingredients. On top of which, it turns out a lot cheaper for me to feed them.

My brother needed to borrow my jeep for a week or so, and brought it back in better shape than when it left here. God blesses us with brothers and families to help us elderly females. This brother of mine is always handy to help me with things. I know I mentioned that in one of my earlier blogs. My other brother is about 2 hours away and was a huge help when I lived down there. Like I said, God blesses us senior sisters with brothers.

1treehill 4


2 responses to “Rambling thoughts and Blessings

  1. floridaborne says:

    Bro will be fixing stuff tomorrow while we have scrabble therapy.

    Hey! It’s not one-sided. We help each other. I’m thankful that I have a fantastic SIL in my life. 🙂

    • djblue1654 says:

      ….. and thankful for you both and all the therapy we share. There are many siblings and even entire families that don’t even like each other. We are Blessed.

Leave a comment